Top Rated San Antonio Drug Crime Lawyer
San Antonio Drug Crime Lawyer
In Texas, punishments for possession or trafficking in drugs can be quite severe. That’s why you shouldn’t delay in getting an experienced San Antonio drug crime lawyer if you are facing a drug charge. Board-Certified Texas Criminal Defense lawyer, Jodi Soyars, and her team at Soyars & Morgan Law have helped many clients get their drug charges reduced or even dismissed.
Get One-on-One Legal Support in San Antonio – Call (210) 390-0000
It is critical that you understand how a drug crime charge can impact your life and what can be done to mitigate the consequences. Don’t jeopardize your future – Contact Jodi Soyars if you are being investigated for or have been formally charged in San Antonio.
Experience Matters in Criminal Defense
Not all drug crimes defense lawyers are alike. Jodi Soyars’ experience in San Antonio drug cases can be invaluable to clients who are facing trial on serious felony charges involving the possession, possession for sale, or distribution of any number of drugs, including:
- Prescription drugs such as painkillers
A wide variety of factors could have an impact on a Texas drug crime case. Any evidence that is collected improperly – during an illegal traffic stop, for example – might not be admissible. Jodi Soyars would be a strong and aggressive advocate for you during this process and will make sure that you are given the best chance to win your case or have the charges against you reduced or dismissed.
Possession of Marijuana in San Antonio
Despite widespread public support for marijuana legalization, Texas lawmakers maintain harsh punishments for the illegal substance. Such punishments depend on the charge and amount of marijuana.
Texas Health and Safety Code (Section 481.120) holds that if you intentionally or knowingly have “actual care, custody, control or management” of marijuana, that constitutes possession of marijuana.
Penalties and punishments for possession of marijuana depend on the amount of marijuana.
- Possessing under two ounces of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor, for which Texas punishment can be as much as 180 days in county jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000, along with two years of community supervision (probation). Possession of 2 to 4 ounces of marijuana can mean a 1-year jail sentence and a $,4000 fine.
- Possessing more than 4 ounces of marijuana is a felony in Texas. Possessing up to 5 pounds can earn 180 days to 2 years in jail and a $10,000 fine. For 5 to 50 pounds, the fine is $10,000 and jail time is 2 to 10 years.
- For 50 to 2,000 pounds of marijuana, the fine in Texas is $10,000 and jail time is 2 to 20 years. For over 2,000 pounds, the prison sentence is 5 to 99 years and the fine is $50,000.
Cultivation of marijuana (growing marijuana plants) in Texas is a possession offense whose penalties depend on the weight of the marijuana.
For trafficking, delivery, transfer, or sales of marijuana, Texas Health and Safety Code (481.121) holds that selling 7 grams or less is a misdemeanor with 180 days of jail time and a $2,000 fine. Selling 7 grams to 5 pounds is a felony with 1 year of jail time and a $4,000 fine. Selling any amount to a minor is a felony with 2 to 20 years of jail time and a $20,000 fine.
Keep in mind that different jurisdictions have different priorities when it comes to low-level marijuana possession. For instance, in Bexar County, Texas, we may be able to get the case dismissed, or get you into a pretrial diversion program. Other counties, such as Comal County, Texas, are more harsh on crimes in general and marijuana is not treated much differently than any other type of crime.
Possession of Cocaine in San Antonio
Texas Health and Safety Code (481.115) makes it illegal to possess, manufacture or deliver any amount of cocaine in Texas. Cocaine punishments depend on the amount of cocaine involved in the arrest.
- Possession of cocaine under 1 gram in Texas is a state jail felony bringing a prison sentence of 6 months to 2 years. However, for first-time offenders, the sentence can be probated, meaning probation instead of jail time.
- Possessing 1 to 4 grams of cocaine is a third-degree felony in Texas. Such crimes can bring fines of up to $10,000 and jail time of 2 to 10 years. Possessing 4 to 200 grams of cocaine is a second-degree felony, which also can bring 2 to 10 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
- Possessing 200 to 400 grams of cocaine is a first-degree felony in Texas, bringing a fine of up to $10,000 and jail time of 5 to 99 years. Possessing over 400 grams can mean a $100,000 fine and 10 to 99 years in prison.
For delivery of cocaine, Texas Health and Safety Code (481.112) levies a fine of up to $10,000 and jail time of 180 days to 2 years for delivering under 1 gram. For delivering over 400 grams of cocaine, punishments can be prison time of 15 to 99 years and/or a fine of $250,000.
As for manufacturing cocaine, Texas Health and Safety Code (481.112) allows for fines of up to $10,000 and jail time of 180 days to 2 years for manufacturing under 1 gram of cocaine. Manufacturing over 400 grams of cocaine means a $250,000 fine and/or 15 to 99 years in prison.
In Bexar County, Texas, low-level offenders may be eligible to participate in the Bexar County pretrial diversion program if the offender doesn’t have any prior offenses.
Possession of Meth in San Antonio
The Texas Controlled Substances Act makes it a crime to possess, distribute or manufacture methamphetamine, also known as meth or crystal meth. Punishments depend on the type and amount of materials associated with meth, but all Texas meth punishments start out at the felony level.
- In Texas, meth possession of under 1 gram of meth can lead to a fine of $10,000 and up to 2 years in prison.
- For possession of 1 to 3.99 grams of meth, the crime is a third degree felony with a $10,000 fine and 2 to 10 years in prison.
- For possessing 4 to 199 grams of meth, the crime is a second-degree felony with a $10,000 fine and 2 to 20 years in prison.
- Possession of 200 to 399 grams of meth is a first-degree felony with a $10,000 fine and 5 to 99 years in prison.
- Possessing 400 grams or more of meth is an “enhanced” first-degree felony with a $10,000 fine and 10 to 99 years in prison.
Manufacturing or distributing meth can bring more severe punishments, again, depending on the weight of the materials. The manufacture or delivery statute brings punishments of 2 to 20 years in prison for 1 to 4 grams, and 10 to 99 years in prison for 200 to 400 grams.
Possessing meth paraphernalia (hollowed-out pens, bottle caps, needles, etc.) for a person’s own use brings a fine of up to $500.
In Bexar County, Texas and other counties, such as Guadalupe and Hays County, you may still be able to avoid prosecution if you are a first-time offender with a low-level meth offense.
GET HELP FROM AN EXPERIENCED SAN ANTONIO DRUG CRIME LAWYER
Aggressive Defense Against Drug Crimes in San Antonio
Being accused of a drug crime is a serious matter, one that needs to be addressed with the help of a skilled drug crime lawyer. At Soyars & Morgan Law, our San Antonio legal team can defend you against your drug crime charges. We believe that there are two sides to every story, and we’re here to make sure your story is told and heard. Each piece of evidence will be carefully examined in search of the strongest defense strategy. Don’t delay – contact us today!