Texas Driver’s License Suspension
Have you experienced a driver’s license suspension in Texas? Don’t panic. It is of primary importance to understand the options that are at your disposal when planning your next legal move. Our team of skilled Texas DWI lawyers at Soyars & Morgan Law will provide you with the top defense to restore your driving privileges.
I was arrested for a DWI. Is my driver’s license suspended?
NO! YOUR TEXAS DRIVER’S LICENSE IS NOT AUTOMATICALLY SUSPENDED JUST BECAUSE YOU WERE ARRESTED FOR A DWI.
Administrative License Review (ALR) Hearing
You have two cases against you if you have been arrested for drunk driving. You likely know about the criminal case charging you with the crime of a DWI, but you also have a civil case against your driver’s license. You only have 15 days from the day you got arrested to request an administrative license review (ALR) hearing to try and save your license. If you do not request the hearing, your license will be suspended starting 40 days from the date you got arrested.
If your Texas driver’s license has been suspended due to a DWI or DUI, call our Texas Driver’s License Suspension Lawyer immediately upon release and we will discuss your ALR hearing with you.
Texas Driver’s License Suspension Lawyer Defense
We will request an ALR hearing for you and start the process. We demand an in-person hearing — By demanding an in-person hearing, this requires that the officer who arrested you show up to the hearing. If the officer does not show up, your ALR hearing will be dismissed. If the ALR hearing is dismissed, you will never have a suspension on your license for either refusing to give a specimen or for being over the legal limit once that specimen is analyzed.
If the officer does not appear to testify against you at the ALR hearing, we have our first line of attack. We get to cross-examine the officer under oath. Officers are not normally prepared to testify at this hearing. They often make mistakes or have no recollection. We can use this testimony in our fight! Because the testimony is under oath, we can obtain a transcript. We can use this transcript to cross-examine the officer and attack his credibility.
If the officer shows up to your ALR hearing, more than likely you will have a suspension on your Texas driver’s license. The burden of proof is much lower than in criminal court. In criminal court, the State must prove that you are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. At the ALR hearing, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) most only prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the officer had reasonable probability to pull you over, probable cause to arrest you, and that you either refused to give specimen or you gave a specimen and it was over .08%.
Texas Driving While Intoxicated cases can be beat.
Whether you took a breath or blood test, your DWI case will require an experienced Texas DWI lawyer to help you understand how these cases can be beat!
Soyars & Morgan Law can make the difference between winning, going to jail, or doing DWI probation. Ashley Morgan and our Texas law firm is trained in the science behind the breath and blood testing, as well as how to attack the standardized field sobriety tests. Our legal team has spent years acquiring award-winning trial experience. We know the judges and prosecutors in each of the Districts and County Courts at Law in Texas.
Our highly successful record of dismissals, reductions, and reduction of DWI charges in Texas speaks for itself.
Are you worried that your DWI arrest will affect your career, your life, or your freedom? Let us reassure you; we have a plan. We can help you get your life back on track and minimize the impact a DWI charge will have on you. Too many times, individuals arrested for DWI delay in contacting us. They don’t understand that time is of the essence in the early stages of the DWI process. It allows us to preserve rights and schedule hearings that may be waived if we do not act promptly.
ALR Hearing Process Explained…
How long is my Texas driver’s license suspended for?
If you do end up with a suspension on your driver’s license, we will provide you with an occupational driver’s license packet, so you will be able to keep driving.
If you refused to give a breath or blood test, your license will be suspended for 180 days. If you gave a breath or a blood test and your BAC result is over a .08%, your license will be suspended for 90 days. If you have a previous ALR suspension on your drivers license, or you have a previous suspension on your drivers license, it could be longer. Contact our Texas Driver’s License Suspension Lawyer, and we will look at your driving record so you are prepared for this suspension.