Texas Intoxication Assault Lawyer
While DWI’s (Driving While Intoxicated) and DUI’s (Driving While Under the Influence) are common charges throughout Texas, there is one charge that is not discussed nearly as often and yet has more severe consequences: intoxication assault.
Have your or a loved one been arrested for intoxication assault after being involved in an accident in Texas? CALL US. It is crucial that you retain an experienced, reputable Texas DWI lawyer as fast as possible. Our Texas law firm has a proven track record of success in intoxication assault cases. We will identify mitigating factors and/or defenses to your individual situation, build a strategic defense, and work diligently on your behalf with either the prosecution or before a judge and jury. At Soyars & Morgan Law, our #1 goal is a dismissal or reduction.
Warning: If you have refused to submit to chemical testing or failed a blood or breath intoxication test for DWI, you only have 15 days to request an administrative license suspension to get your license back.
Get Experienced Legal Help From Our Texas Intoxication Assault Lawyers
- Named Best Lawyers in San Antonio by S.A. Scene Magazine
- Aggressive, experienced, and trustworthy legal counsel
- 30+ years combined experience defending clients in San Antonio
- Accessible 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
- Payment plans and free initial case evaluations available
An intoxication assault conviction can have lasting adverse consequences for your life. When you hire a Texas intoxication assault lawyer from our law firm, you can feel confident you will receive the highest quality defense possible.
At Soyars & Morgan Law, our Texas intoxication assault lawyers are committed to protecting your rights, reputation, and freedom. With more than 30 years of experience in Texas, our intoxication assault lawyers have a comprehensive knowledge of Texas laws to help you navigate through the complexities of the legal system.
What is Intoxication Assault in Texas?
Intoxication Assault falls under Chapter 49.07 of the Texas Penal Code and defines intoxicated assault as when an individual operates a motor vehicle on a public road and by reason of his or her impairment, causes an accident that results in serious bodily injury to another person. It does not matter if the injuries were caused by accident, by mistake, or by intent.
There are two key phrases of intoxication assault that differentiate DWI from Intoxication Assault: “while intoxicated” and “serious bodily injury”. In Texas, an adult of the age 21 or older cannot operate motor vehicles, or other modes of transportation, with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of .08% or higher. When that happens, you are charged with a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated). However, combine that with “serious bodily injury” of another person, and that is intoxication assault. It is important to recognize the distinction between intoxication assault and intoxication manslaughter in Texas.
What is Considered “Serious Bodily Injury” in Texas?
According to the Texas Penal Code, serious bodily injury is defined as an injury that leads to:
- A substantial risk of death
- A serious, possibly permanent disfigurement
- Protracted loss or impairment of the function of any part of the body, be it a member or an organ
Call our Texas Intoxication Assault Lawyers and
Get Started Fighting Your Case Today
What Are the Penalties of Intoxication Assault in Texas?
Intoxication assault in Texas is treated as a third-degree felony punishable by up to 10 years in jail, drivers license suspension between 180 days and two years, and a fine of up to $10,000. However, this charge can be enhanced, dependent on the nature of the injury and who was injured. The offense becomes a second-degree felony if:
- The injury results in a vegetative state.
- The injury happens to a peace officer, firefighter, or emergency medical personnel in the line of duty.
Intoxication Assault in Texas: The Defense
There are a few important things that the state must prove in order for someone to be convicted of intoxicated assault in Texas:
A. First, the State must prove intoxication. Intoxication is defined as having a .08 blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time the accident happens. The state can also prove the loss of normal use of the mental or physical faculties because someone has taken medication or drugs, or drank alcohol.
B. The State also has to prove that the victim or complainant suffered “serious bodily injury.” A scrape, bloody nose, or bruise is not enough for the state to prove “serious bodily injury”. In Texas, “serious bodily injury” is defined as a substantial risk of death, serious possible permanent disfigurement, or a protracted loss or impairment of the function of any body part or organ.
C. Most importantly, and often overlooked by inexperienced defense lawyers, is the fact that not only does the state have to prove that someone got injured, but the State has to prove that the driver’s intoxication caused the accident which then caused the injury. If the accident was probably going to happen regardless of the driver’s intoxication, there is not causation.
Contact a Texas Intoxication Assault Lawyer
If you or someone you know has been charged with intoxication assault in Texas, you need to hire the best DWI lawyer possible. The Soyars & Morgan Law team have decades of proven experience and a reputation in the courtroom for successful results. Contact Ashley Morgan and the Soyars & Morgan Law firm to discuss the circumstances of your case.