Texas DWI Charges
The Texas DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED defense attorneys at Soyars & Morgan Law will defend your DWI case with personal expertise and knowledge of San Antonio and the surrounding area’s law practice. It can affect your career and family for years.
There are numerous direct and collateral consequences if you are convicted of a DWI, which may include jail time, ignition interlock, driver’s license suspension, and many others.
FIGHT your dwi!
The Texas Legislature has given many citizens no other choice but to set their case for trial and the majority of cases sitting on the jury trial docket in County Courts are DWI’s. Texas does not have the resources to prosecute so many cases, which means that if you are persistent and patient, you could take advantage of Texas’ DWI case overload. So be smart about your situation and make sure you act quickly – the best Texas DWI defense can be developed by taking advantage of the Administrative License Revocation Hearing (ALR).
While some DWI’s may be eligible for deferred adjudication in Texas, this plea may not be your best outcome. Any type of plea on a Texas DWI will mean the arrest will permanently be on your criminal record and can never be expunged.
If you’ve been arrested, you need an attorney that’s going to fight for you. You need the team at Soyars & Morgan Law!
Our innovative, aggressive attorneys think outside of the box to solve your problems.
ARrested for a dwi?
If you’ve been arrested for a Texas DWI there are two separate cases against you!
- ALR Texas Driver's License Hearing by DPS
- There will be a criminal case filed by the State.
The clock is running! You only have 15 days to request a driver’s license hearing or DPS will suspend you license!
What is an ALR Hearing?
An ALR hearing is vital to your Texas DWI defense! Lots of attorneys will tell you an ALR hearing is not important. They tell you this because they are lazy and do not want to take on the extra work and expense.
You only have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request an Administrative License Revocation (ARL) Hearing. If you do not request an ALR hearing, the Texas Department of Public Safety will suspend your driver’s license.
If I've been arrested for a Texas DWI, am I going to jail or prison?
Depending on the facts of your case and how many prior DWI’s you’ve had, you most likely won’t go back to jail or be sent to prison. However, an experienced attorney will be able to review your case and give you better odds of beating your DWI charges. If you do end up convicted, the maximum amount of fines was changed by the Texas Legislature in September 2019.
The fines for a Texas DWI depend on the type of DWI:
- First Conviction - up to $3,000 to be paid within 36 months.
- Second or Subsequent Conviction - up to $4,500 to be paid within 36 months.
- First of Subsequent conviction and your BAC is .15 or higher - up to $6,000.
If I've been arrested for a Texas DWI, am I going to lose my job?
Many companies have mandatory firing policies in place if you are arrested. Many companies will work with you and not make the determination while your case is pending. They will usually revisit the issue after your case is disposed of.
If you work as a lawyer, doctor, plumber, nurse, or other professional, you might lose your professional license if you are convicted.
Our attorneys will fight your case to try to prevent a conviction.
If you have a commercial driver’s license, you are in a particularly tricky spot. If your Class C driver’s license is suspended as a result of an affirmative decision at your ALR hearing, or if you fail to request your ALR hearing with the time frame, you will have a suspension on your Class C driver’s license.
You will not be able to get an occupational driver’s license on your CDL. If you end up convicted of a Texas DWI, it could remain on your CDL record for 55 years.